• Home »
  • News! »
  • Uttar Pradesh Local Elections 2017: Counting of Votes Begins

Uttar Pradesh Local Elections 2017: Counting of Votes Begins

Lucknow, Dec 1: The counting of votes for the Uttar Pradesh Local Elections 2017 began at 8 AM on Thursday. The voting for the three-phased elections ended on November 29. The UP urban local body elections (UP Nagar Nikay Chunav) is being seen as a litmus test for the Yogi Adityanath government in the state. (Get LIVE UPDATES here)

The counting of votes for all 652 urban local bodies in the state began at 334 centres at 8:00 AM today amid tight security arrangements and the results are likely by 7:00 PM on Friday. (List of Mayors in UP)

Elections were held for 16 nagar nigam (Municipal Corporation), 118 nagar palika parishad (Municipal Council) and 438 nagar panchayat bodies. (ALSO READ: UP Civic Poll Winners to Get SMS Informing Them of Victory)

ALSO READ :  Bomb Threat at Mumbai Airport, Security Agencies Launch Search Operation

The first phase of the Uttar Pradesh Civic Polls 2017, which was held on November 23 in 24 districts, recorded a total voter turnout of 52.59 per cent. These include five municipal corporations, 71 municipal councils and 154 nagar panchayats. In the second phase, held on November 26, voting was held in 25 districts that included six municipal corporations, 51 municipal councils and 132 nagar panchayats. A total of 53 per cent voter turnout was recorded in this phase. Voting for the third phase was held on November 29 in 26 districts and 49.3 per cent voter turnout.

The exit polls have given an edge to the Bharatiya Janata Party in the polls. BJP had won 10 out of 12 mayoral posts. This year, the number of mayoral posts has gone up to 16. It remains to be seen whether the BJP will be able to win what is being called a prestige battle for it.

ALSO READ :  Rahul Gandhi’s Promotion as Congress President Should Not be Judged by Outsiders: Pranab Mukherjee in Book

Let’s block ads! (Why?)