• Home »
  • News! »
  • 1st ODI Live: Virat Kohli Wins Toss, Opts To Field Against England

1st ODI Live: Virat Kohli Wins Toss, Opts To Field Against England

Fresh from their Twenty20 International (T20I) series win, an upbeat India will be eyeing to continue with the momentum when they take on England in the first of the three-match One-Day International (ODI) rubber at Trent Bridge on Thursday. The Virat Kohli-led side won the recently concluded T20I series 2-1 and the team management hopes for another valuable performance by the team. With the ODI World Cup scheduled to be held here next year, the three-match series will also give Kohli and his teammates a fair idea of the playing condition in England. The men in blue carry a deep batting line-up with most of their batsman in good touch with the willow. While both Rohit Sharma and KL Rahul slammed a ton each in the T20I series, Kohli missed his half-centuries by whiskers on a couple of occasions. (LIVE SCORECARD)

Live Updates of India vs England 1st ODI, straight from Trent Bridge, Nottingham

17:29 IST: Third over from Siddarth Kaul produces 11 runs. Couple of boundaries in the over. Both England openers looking comfortable at the crease now. ENG 37-0 after 6 overs.

17:24 IST: FOUR! Final ball of the fifth over. Umesh drags down the leg-side and that was too easy for Jonny Bairstow. Flicks it away for a boundary towards fine-leg. ENG 26-0 after 5 overs.

17:14 IST: Bairstow collects two boundaries off Umesh Yadav’s second over. Hosts looking solid at the start. ENG 20-0 after 3 overs.

17:12 IST: FOUR! What a short from Bairstow! Full face of the blade and the ball races to the mid-off boundary for four. ENG 16-0 after 2.3 overs.

17:09 IST: FOUR! Short from Siddarth Kaul and pulled away through deep mid-wicket for four. First boundary for Jonny Bairstow. ENG 11-0 after 1.5 overs.

17:04 IST: Loud appeal from Umesh Yadav and India on the final ball of the first over. Umpire rules not out. Bairstow survives. So after first over England are 6 without loss.

17:00 IST: FOUR! First ball is a genuine out-swinger from Umesh Yadav. Thick outside and the ball flies right of first slip for a boundary. England open their account on the first ball of the match. ENG 4-0 after 0.1 overs.

16:58 IST: Jason Roy and Jonny Bairstow are at the centre for England. Umesh Yadav will start the proceedings for India.

16:45 IST: Siddarth Kaul makes his ODI debut for India as Bhuvneshwar Kumar misses out due to injury. Virat Kohli has gone in with two spinners Yuzvendra Chahal and Kuldeep Yadav. For England, top order batsman Alex Hales misses out due to injury.

16:38 IST: England (Playing XI): Jason Roy, Jonny Bairstow, Joe Root, Eoin Morgan (c), Ben Stokes, Jos Buttler (w), Moeen Ali, David Willey, Liam Plunkett, Adil Rashid, Mark Wood

India (Playing XI): Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Lokesh Rahul, Virat Kohli (c), Suresh Raina, MS Dhoni(w), Hardik Pandya, Siddarth Kaul, Umesh Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav

16:34 IST: England skipper Eoin Morgan says he would have loved to chase as well, but the toss cannot be controlled. He also added, “Unfortunate, Alex has done his side. Joe Root goes up to 3. Stokes at 5. Ben coming in has given us an extra option with the ball. Joe is hungry for runs. The standards that Joe has set for himself are very high.”

16:32 IST: India skipper Virat Kohli wins the toss, elects to bowl first. Kohli describes it as a good toss to win and he suggests his side will bank on their strength in the opening One-Day International. 

16:25 IST: Toss is just few moments away.

16:12 IST: UPDATE: Alex Hales is not playing today.

16:10 IST: Here’s a look at the pitch.

16:00 IST: Hello and welcome to the Live coverage of the first ODI between India and England at Trent Bridge.

Suresh Raina, who replaced an unfit Ambati Rayudu, and Mahendra Singh Dhoni will once again provide depth to the batting order while all-rounder Hardik Pandya too has the ability to demolish any bowling attack. In the bowling department, Kuldeep Yadav and Yuzvendra Chahal will once again be the key. Kuldeep has claimed 20 wickets in his last eight ODIs while Chahal scalped 24 wickets in his last ten outings.

Apart from the duo, Umesh Yadav and Bhuvneshwar Kumar will share the new ball.

On the other hand, hosts England, would try to leave the T20I series defeat behind and will take some motivation from the ODI series against Australia, where the Eoin Morgan-led side had crushed the visitors 6-0.

It was the same ground where England scripted a world record in ODI history after putting 481/6 on board against Australia recently.

Like India, the hosts’ batting line-up also runs deep with the likes of Jos Buttler, Jason Roy, Alex Hales, Jonny Bairstow, Morgan and Ben Stokes. With the ball, spinners Adil Rashid and Moeen Ali will be a major threat to the visitors. The pace attack will once again rely on the shoulders of Liam Plunkett, Stokes, David Willey and Mark Wood, depending on who all feature in the playing XI on Thursday.


India- Virat Kohli (Captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, MS Dhoni (Wicket-keeper), Dinesh Karthik, Suresh Raina, Hardik Pandya, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Shreyas Iyer, Siddarth Kaul, Axar Patel, Umesh Yadav, Shardul Thakur, Bhuvneshwar Kumar

England- Eoin Morgan (Captain), Jason Roy, Jonny Bairstow, Jos Buttler (Wicket-keeper), Moeen Ali, Joe Root, Jake Ball, Tom Curran, Alex Hales, Liam Plunkett, Ben Stokes, Adil Rashid, David Willey, Mark Wood

Let’s block ads! (Why?)