• Home »
  • News! »
  • Social Science Council gets Member Secretary after two years

Social Science Council gets Member Secretary after two years

After a delay of almost two years, the top position at Indian Council for Social Science Research (ICSSR) has been filled by the Human Resource Development Ministry.

According to sources, the appointment has been done after discussion with RSS, as the sangh wanted their man to be at the helm of affairs in the council.

The ministry has approved the name of Virendra Mehrotra, currently member of court at Jawaharlal Nehru University, as the Member Secretary. Mehrotra, who was also associated with Chaudhary Charan Singh University in UP, is considered close to RSS.

Interviews for selection of Member Secretary were conducted by a 5-member panel on September 11 this year. According to sources in the ministry, 20 people were interviewed for the position which included Ashwini Mohapatra and Chinna Rao from JNU and AAP leader Kumar Vishwas’s brother Sanjeev Kumar Sharma, who is associated with Chaudhary Charan Singh University.

Among the names that were being considered for the position also included Upendra Chaudhary, who is the officiating Member Secretary, however his name got dropped and instead Mehrotra was selected. According to sources, the government wanted Mehrotra to be at the helm as they wanted someone who is close to RSS, in the position. There are a number of positions vacant in the council, which the RSS wants to fill with their people.

A five member selection committee including Delhi University Vice Chancellor, Yogesh Tyagi, Sukhdev Thorat Chairman ICSSR, Shashikala Bhide, Rajan Harshe and AK Aggarwal had selected three names. The final decision was taken by the HRD Minister.

The ICSSR is responsible for reviewing the progress of social science research and give advice to its users. It also sponsors social science research programmes and projects and administers grants to institutions and individuals for research in the subject.

Let’s block ads! (Why?)